Groupe Renault

Renault to illuminate the 42nd César Awards ceremony with two of its leading models

February 20, 2017
  • Groupe Renault will be celebrating the finest in French cinema at the 42nd César Awards ceremony on February 24, 2017. A few days ahead of the Oscars, Marion Cotillard, Isabelle Huppert, Lily-Rose Depp, Omar Sy, George Clooney will attend the ceremony, organized in Paris at the legendary Salle Pleyel concert hall.
  • Official partner of the César since 2008, Renault will be escorting the nominees throughout the event with a fleet of 35 Talisman and 5 Espace.
  • Renault’s intimate relationship with cinema goes back 120 years. Today it supports the most prestigious festivals, including Cannes, Deauville, Angoulême, Cabourg, Lyon Lumière and Alpe d’Huez.

Renault, the official chauffeur of the César for ten years

For the tenth consecutive year, Renault is supporting the French cinema community at the César Awards ceremony, a major event well known to professionals and the general public alike. Broadcast live and free-to-air on Canal+ and hosted by humorist Jérôme Commandeur, this year’s ceremony will be widely covered in the media. The coverage will be bolstered by the men and women who hit the cinema headlines in 2016 starting with George Clooney who will receive a César Honorary Award. Thirty-five Talisman and five Espace, bearing the signature of the event, will be at the disposal of VIPs for the special evening.

The close links between the film industry and the auto industry

Besides winning the hearts of viewers and the favor of critics, a film attains greatness when it obtains the recognition of the film industry through the rewards it bestows on movies and the people who make them. Renault, a flagship of the French automotive industry, has long-standing commitments to cinema dating back to 1898, when its automotive plants stood next to the first film studios built in Billancourt and where Louis Renault offered his first Voiturette to the Lumière Brothers, over a century ago.

And the award goes to…

The 4,287 members of the Académie des Arts et Techniques du Cinéma have distinguished 50 films released in 2016. For the 41 feature films and nine short films in competition, 119 nominations have been announced, with Marion Cotillard, Isabelle Huppert, Gaspard Ulliel, Nathalie Baye, Lily-Rose Depp, Vincent Cassel, Omar Sy, Laurent Lafitte and Ibrahim Maalouf all in the running. From Best Actress, Most Promising Actor and Best Screenplay to Best First Film and Best Foreign Film, a total of 22 awards will be presented. Paul Verhoeven’s Elle and François Ozon’s Frantz are the leading contenders with 11 nominations each, followed by Bruno Domont’s Ma Loute, Nicole Garcia’s Mal de Pierres and Houda Benyamina’s Divines, while Juste la Fin du Monde by Xavier Dolan has earned six nominations.


Evenings/weekends and statutory holidays:
Phone: +33 (0)1 76 84 67 89
Groupe Renault
Turn your mobile.
To take full advantage of the experience on our website, we suggest you turn your phone vertically.
0:00 / 0:00
Download Conditions
All materials on this website are the sole property of Renault SAS and/or of its subsidiaries or of any third party having granted Renault SAS permission to use them. Please note that these materials are for editorial use only. Commercial use, including advertising, marketing and merchandising, is strictly prohibited. All trademarks are the ownership of Groupe Renault.